While I’m there, I might as well…

I’ve decided to put together my progress photos of the 250 rebuild, taken over the course of 2 years together here.As a reminder, I started all of this when I came back from Portland, June of 2012. I finally got fed up by the lack of compression and needed to replace the improperly maintained Cam Chain. Instead of doing research, I just started to take the engine apart. Come to find out, to replace the cam chain the cases have to be split.

CherryRebuild21

And so, while I was in there, I might as well….

Get the crank balanced and the balancer removed. While I wait on the shop to do that, I decided to polish the valve covers…

CherryRebuild20Polish as many of the engine components as I can, including the cylinders, water joint, oil filter cover, side covers and so forth….

CherryRebuild19

New big end bearings…

CherryRebuild17

With the balanced crank back it starts going to together…

CherryRebuild18

airbox swap…

CherryRebuild16

refinishing the clutch slip plates

CherryRebuild15

new clutch…

CherryRebuild14

New windshield and goofing off…

CherryRebuild13

balanced, stock pistons…

CherryRebuild12

water pump installed…

CherryRebuild11

carbs cleaned…

CherryRebuild10

the engine is going to take a while still, but I want to ride now, so I design and fabricate a “gravity engine” so I coast the bike down a large hill…

CherryRebuild09

bleeding brakes after a full system rebuild…

CherryRebuild08

ready for the gravity run…

CherryRebuild07

Cylinders on, engine ready for blue printing…

CherryRebuild06

Calculating headspace volume…

CherryRebuild05

Verifying TDC mark on crank…

CherryRebuild04

Head on, cams back, getting close now…

CherryRebuild03

valve cover on and other relevant bits back where they belong…

CherryRebuild02

Back in the bike…

CherryRebuild01

And after a test fire I learned the oil pump gear can easily be dislodged by the clutch, and an engine not getting oil is a bad thing… 😦 Luckily, all of the measurements came back good and the 250 has gotten about 4,000 miles since. For more timely updates, please follow me on instagram for future projects of the Dandooligan fumbling his way through complicated machines.

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

3 comments

  1. Zartan

    So much goodness here!

  2. Kurt

    Carburetors? What are carburetors?

  3. drew

    great pictures

Leave a Reply

