It’s been a long winter

With spring being almost gone I did something I haven’t done in 5 months. I went for a ride.

It all started with this and progressed into a deep depression of listlessness nothing seemed to be able to cure. I spent days sleeping, waking long enough to work. If I lost my job, my world would end, so at least I forced responsibility. The winter was cold. The bike needed a rebuild. I didn’t care.

Right about February I started taking the vitamin, B-complex, and its as if somebody flipped a switch in me. I started catching up on months of inadequacy. I finally put Cherry, the little red ninja that would (regardless of whether she could), up on the stands mid-March and started rebuilding her engine with a ferocious fervor. I learned a lot. I messed some things up. I fixed them. I fixed things I broke in the past. I put the last bolt in place at 00:30 this morning (Friday).

I pushed her outside and cranked the engine for a little while before she coughed to life. I let her take her time waking up, not only after a long slumber, but also, heart surgery. We sat there, just being. Once she seemed awake enough I clicked her into gear and with no haste what-so-ever, I moved out of the apartment complex, relishing every moment.  It was like a dream.

See, I just got done riding the most powerful sport bike in the world, a Kawasaki ZX-14R, being a hooligan and an asshole on the road. Acceleration was mine to be used and abused as I pleased…. It was fun, but definitely more of a one night fling. I would feel so bad for the 14, never getting to see it’s fully potential as a daily driver. It really needs an AutoBahn on a daily basis. When I got on Cherry, my 250, a peep squeak comparatively, I felt the way I’m sure I will feel one day in a marriage. Happy and at home.

The way the gear shift snicked from gear to gear, the way she breathed, an ever so familiar voice. I could hear her heartbeat in that voice. I could feel it pulse through every fiber of my body. I knew exactly when to push which buttons to bring her closer to me. I cried. The wind swept my tears away. I was home. Wherever I was on this bike, is home. I’ve never felt like that before. Intense is such an inadequate term…

 All is good with the world.
About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

2 comments

  1. drew

    glad to hear you are out riding! I think this will make you smile.
    http://i1218.photobucket.com/albums/dd403/potterjandrew/dand_zps8bb883bf.jpg (NSFW)

Leave a Reply

