Victory adds understand petrolsexuals.

imageSo I saw these adds in my monthly subscription to the American Motorcyclist, the AMA’s rag and thought them to be exceedingly ingenious! They are all simple edit prints of off the wall products you never knew existed. A circuit board which stops rain, a CD of v-twins revving, a big cats on bike calendar (dirty your mind for that one), exhaust cologne, scented candles (Burnt rubber, exhaust and sweaty helmet) and grease scented/colored hand lotion make up a full page ad. I’ve listed the URL’s here, just in case they are too small in the picture…
http://www.NoRainEver.com, http://www.JoyfulSoundsThatRock.com, http://www.CatBikeFever.com, http://www.ExhaustCologne.com, http://www.SweetSmellsOfMan.com, http://www.ThrottleLotion.com
All these URL’s lead to a Victory promotional page describing how good Victories are, and betting the reader $100 that they’ll agree after a test ride. Something unique and clean to catch the attention, forwarding to a dare – the perfect combination to lure testosterone to the show room floor. I love it! If I were in the market for an all-American v-twin, it would be a Victory, but not because of this ad. Rather, simply because its not a Harley… Regardless, I think I’m the outlier, and I hope this, and other ads like these help Victory take some of Harley’s market share! Competition is sorely needed in that genre of motos. Keep it coming Victory!

NOTE: I’m not a Harley hater, nor am I getting any kickbacks from either Victory or the AMA, I just really enjoyed the ads, and hope you will as well! Also, petrosexual is NOT an original term of my own creation. I first heard it used by Jeremy Clarkson on Top Gear, and I like it!

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

One comment

  1. Walter

    Victory really made waves when they introduced the Vision… I was at Sturgis after it was announced, and it had ALOT of people talking about it. It was a very well thought out touring machine, and to me managed to look modern as well as somewhat classic (cuz you could still see the motor!!!). Besides, the last several times that Harley didn’t have “competition” they just fell further and further behind the times, lacking even the quality of the bikes coming from England! (It is good they have managed to bring up the quality and workmanship to the point it is now).

Leave a Reply

