There is no time like the present.

I was just driving home in the beginnings of a blizzard and thinking to myself how I’m exceedingly grateful to be in my car and not on the moto when a flock of canadian geese flew over, heading west, into the storm. This made me think of how we as humans are weak, and weaker now than we were 100 years ago. The birds haven’t changed much in that time, but thanks to technology, we have.

I then thought about how difficult life was back then, and what kind of hardships those folks endured. This left me wondering how I would cope in the conditions of yore, and those people would endure todays world. I was reminded of my own trials, most importantly, some serious spreadsheet work I have to do this evening, and the certain mental torture to be endured at the tedium. I thought that the people of yore would certainly commit a cide (homo or suicide) if faced with the same dulrum, and how just so, I would commit the same in their circumstances.

My thoughts culminated in the idea that as humans adapt, they are faced by the contemporary challenges and benefits of their time. The human condition doesn’t get better or worse. Romanticising a certain time period (like the roaring 20’s or rock-n-roll 50’s) allows us to forget about the human condition, and we lie to ourselves about a simpler world in the past, and a more complex and difficult world in the future. Time tested reality shows that the human condition doesn’t allow for that though, and adapts us accordingly. The past was no better than the present, which won’t be better than the future. Our trials might come in different forms with different names, and our victories the same, but the balance is kept in adaptation.

It seems clear to me, that no matter, where I might be, or what I might be doing, it is up to me, and the choices I make, to be a success or failure in any situation. Even though I am tired and fed up, on this day, I will lay my head down to sleep as a success, for I choose it to be so. Stay motivated.

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

One comment

  1. Walter

    Good point. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

