Today, we climbed a tree.

imageSo a friend and I hung out today with nothing to do. We decided to go pick up a frizbee at REI, and after practicing hand stands and tossing the frizbee around, I looked at the tree in the photo above and thought outloud that I hadn’t climbed a tree in a very long time. He shared the sentiment, and a minute later I was up in the tree tossing my phone down so he could take a photo. We traded spots and while driving home we were discussing how we felt like kids again with dubstep playing in the background. I have gotten caught up in too many grown up things lately trying to be responsible, and as such lost any desire to live, suffering a 3 month long depression which left me fatigued and apathetic. Friend helped me figure out that life isn’t about being one or the other (grown up, or a kid). I don’t have to play with expensive grown up toys, although they are fun in their own right. I don’t have to abandon my responsibilities as a grown up either. I simply have to remember the kid in me every once in a while, and put in place a few check points, once every few months and have some good clean innocent fun. I had forgotten that innocence can be fun too.

image

Your author in a tree

Stay young!

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

3 comments

  1. Freakin’ awesome! That is all.

  2. ive never climbed a tree in my life… now i feel like i must

Leave a Reply

