Badass coworker! A Daytona 675 for a week!

2011 Daytona 675 SE, just about purrrrfect!

A co-worker asked me to house sit for him, and being that he’s a rate-A guy of course I said yes! I’ve house sat plenty before, and have dealt with some serious quirks before, so I have no fear. Thus, the first question out of my ever-testing mouth, which should just be shut most of the time, inconveniently blabs open with: “So, can I ride your bike too?” Surprisingly, he says “yes”! WOW, seriously? Cool!

He owns a 2011 Triumph Daytona 675 SE with an arrow exhaust and aftermarket rear-sets which renders the shifting pattern up-side-down (GP shift). In other words, my dream bike! We’ve talked about the bike a lot, and it’s been a fantastically fun time to vicariously experiencing the bike through him at work. Does this guy know what he just told me? I get to have my dream bike for a week? How awesome! As the time fast approaches for me to take care of the kitties and defend his home with life and limb with my awesome ninja-skillz, I repeatedly ask him again and again, whenever the subject comes up, if it would be alright. Every time I get the same answer. Awesome, this guy really means it!

I go over for the briefing – in essence, cats and quirks about the house. Pretty standard issue stuff. I walk out and there it is, on the rearstand, shiny and brimming with possibility. I can’t wait!

I show up that night with my over-night kit and make sure everything is as they said it would be. If anything needs to be addressed, it needs to be addressed now. Nope, everything is perfect! Wow, what cool people! They left my all kinds of delicious food, 2 great cats to entertain, and 1 amazing motorcycle! I have barely started and I can’t wait to house sit for them again! I take the Daytona out for a test spin just to see if I can safely handle it for the next week, commuting to work. Amazing! Everything about the bike is just purrrrfect!

The next morning to work I experience much more of the bike, due to the freeway being the fastest way to work. The power is phenomenal, the torque is just down right excellent, the riding position is uber comfortable (Thanks to my monkey-esque figure, I’m the kind of guy who hurts on a cruiser), and the sound is unreal!

The next day it’s just as before, and indeed it wasn’t a dream. I’m getting more comfortable on the bike and I’m even adjusting to the power fairly well. Over the course of the next 2 days I get to know the bike intimately. If I had one of these, there would be 2 additional things I would modify. Heat-wrap the exhaust, for it fries your balls 15 minutes into any ride, and change out the foam in the seat for something a bit more giving. Even though the riding position is excellent, my butt isn’t built to ride a plank over these bumpy roads. Then, it would be purrrfect! I’m rolling along, doing my thing, fulfilling my duties, and I text him one night.

I tell him how many miles I’ve put on the bike in the 4 days I’ve had it and get a response which surprises the hell out of me. Apparently I’ve been riding it too much. What I thought was riding, was not what he thought was riding. Dang it! So not cool! No, not that he won’t let me ride the bike anymore, that’s expected. It’s his bike, and what he says goes, full stop! What sucks is that I didn’t pick up on that. I should have asked a maximum mileage I could put on it… yea, that would have alleviated the confusion. Now I feel really bad about the situation.

I have just wronged and broken the trust of the uber cool people who have treated me so well and thrown it all in their face. Not to mention maybe stressed him out, or put him in a bad mood, and now he can’t enjoy his vacation as much as he otherwise would have. The exact opposite I was wanting to do. They will probably never ask me to house sit for them again. His friendship will probably also suffer. Dammit, why am I so stupid! I totally should have known! I should have asked! I should have… Should… I hate that word. When in hind sight seeing a better choice and hating yourself for not having made it in the first place.

Luckily, at their return, we had a lengthy chat and figured everything out. As a good friend, we each took responsibility for our own part in the mis-communication, and it all worked out. I don’t feel so bad for enjoying the bike, and counting them among my friends still. Undeniably I know the Daytona to be as close to near perfection in a moto as I’ve ever found. It has made it to the short list. I thank my coworker, from the bottom of my heart for opportunity not just to ride his bike, but also to work through a fantastic opportunity in forging a stronger friendship!

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

5 comments

  1. Blaze

    PFFT, It’s just like I told him…the fact that you put more miles on the bike in a week than he had in a month is just sad and he needs to htfu and ride more. The bike was meant to be ridden hard and he needs to respect the needs of his bike. Needless to say, I got the glare o death and then a small smile and a sheepish “yea I know.”

  2. man i wish i had friends like that. 🙂

    • sha, I’m very grateful!

      • I put more miles on my bike during a track day than your friend does in a month. It seems that what most people call ‘riding’ is more akin to ‘owning’. You did your friend a huge favor by taking his Daytona out there to let her off the leash. I bet she runs better now, too. Besides, you didn’t drop it or wad it up. In my book it’s all good. Now, if you ever housesit for me, the rule is feed the cats and fingers off the hardware. Nobody rides my stuff. 😉

      • See, with rules like that I know EXACTLY what’s expected, and I can honor those easily. I think I’d just sit there and drool…. 😀

Leave a Reply

