Ninja 250 Rally @ The Dragon Day 9

Aug. 7th Momaru and I get up later than we had planned, having drank and chatted too much the night before and miss our rendezvous with Oroboros for some early morning higher-speed runnings, but end up taking a few dashes back and forth with some mixed results. Once the crowds roll in, we follow a group out and I see a passenger in very little gear (but with a helmet on) pull up her shirt right in front of a photographer! Must make sure to look at ALL the Killboy photos from this day…

The much smaller group who met up on Sunday. The Dam just below the Dragon.

After we chill at the pull-out for a little while, our small group pulls out for some more scenic riding, and it is gorgeous! I love this area, but it’s hot, and I’m not gonna miss sweating like this while standing in what otherwise feels like a perfectly normal 80F day… This humidity is killer! We have our fun and Momaru and I decide to take a similar route home, which means we can enjoy the last lunch together before splitting off and each going our own ways.

A local waterfall hang out in the Smokey Mountain National Park. The scenery was fantastic! The shrubbery was good too.

Lunch is tasty and lots of maps and figurings of how to get home… After lunch I follow Momaru, with his superior sense of direction, but he pulls off not 2 miles from where we last stopped and lets me know he thinks I’m going the wrong way, based off of a sign we just passed. His internal compass has proven to be much more accurate than mine, so agree I do and we separate with a quick goodbye. I don’t like goodbyes, it feels like I know this guy, and many of the others much better than many friends I have at home, and my eyes tear easily, so off onto the road where nobody can witness my poor pathetic composure…. I’m gonna miss them for sure!

I’m back into commuter mindset. Nashville, here we come! Starting at 3:00pm Nashville should be nothing but a thing! Through the back roads, traffic, blegh. I hit Pigeon Forge right at rush-hour, and it’s abysmal. The worse traffic I have been in yet, in my entire riding career…. But the architecture makes the time in stop-and-go a bit easier to bear… I see pirate ships, upside-down hotels and adult playhouses… This is a regular little Las Vegas right here in TN! Wow!

Through Pigeon Forge and onto I-40. Not 6 minutes on the interstate and there I see a blue Ninja 250 coming in the opposite lane. After I barely get a waive in to this Ninja I realize that it was Momaru, and his compass had sent each of us in opposing directions. So much for all the planning over lunch! I break into a riotous laughter inside my helmet. Later, we would exchange messages on-line and laugh about it some more. The rest of this day is boring: I-40 to Nashville and crash at a Knight’s Inn fairly early with the aim on an early start the next day. Now, the long journey home, and the adventure is not over yet…

Nashville, TN! The trip home is gonna be a sinch. Or is it?

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

2 comments

Leave a Reply

