Ninja 250 Rally @ The Dragon Day 4

Aug 2nd. I awake much later than I wanted, late enough even for Shady to wake. We chat over a cuppa before I leave around 8:30 or so towards Washington DC for some visitings with friends. I seem to have a bad habit of shooting myself in the foot and not realizing it until much, much later. The night before I charted a course to DC through West Virginia on back roads, having had enough of I-70. The interstate had gotten to me and I needed something different.

And so I hate state #7 on the 4th day.

So OH-31 turns into US-50 and that’s how I get to Vriginia. What should have taken 7 hours max turns into 15, but oh, was it worth it! US-50 is 55mph the entire way, with suggested turns through the mountains at 20mph. That means I can go as fast as I feel comfortable and still be well within the speed limit! Brilliant, C-DOT can learn something from WV here…

Yea! I wasn't the only enjoying this secret little gem of a road!

These folks are as tought as the pig-skin on a banjo! They don't take too kindly to strangers, but are polite enough still.

I stop for eats around 4pm at Cool Springs Park, thinking I’m half way and dilly dally. The folks in the all-service general store don’t take too kindly to strangers and after fighting off the stares for some 45 minutes decide to head out. Even though they stare with disapproving gazes, they are kind, and the lady behind the counter even charged my cell phone!

Hitting VA at late dusk, and another 2 hours to go? Ugh... Really?

Back on the road and at dusk I cross into Virginia, texting my host for the nights the deets. Off we go, more of 50 and it’s almost taking the same character of I-70 at this point. Sure, the turns are still gorgeous, but you get used to pounding apexes all day, and I just want to be near a bed. Roll into the edges of civilization at a gas station around 8:30, only another 50 miles to go. Straightest and now fastest route is to stay on 50… This confounded road! I want no more twisties, I want slab so I can just get there! Well, nut-up and get’er done. So I do, and arrive around 10:30 or some such. My hosts are old friends turned chosen family and it’s a hoot as it always is! We stay up much too late talking and getting to know 2 new members of the family.

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

Leave a Reply

