Ninja 250 Rally @ The Dragon Day 2

July 31st. Getting up at 6am is not my forte and I drag me feet getting out of bed getting everything packed up and checking out of the Motel 6 which looked so sweet the night before. It doesn’t look so good anymore. I’m rolling by 6:30, I guess the feet only felt heavy to the brain and I weren’t moving that slow.

A 30 second stop at the The Arch in St. Louis, Missery for a photo. Illigeally jumped the curb for this shot, and no time to saunter, many miles to go...

Interstate, I-70, adjust/lube chain, hydrate, interstate, I-70 adjust/lube chain, hydrate, repeat, repeat, oh, border! Crossing into Missouri nothing seems different. I-70, adjust/lube chain, hydrate, repeat. Oh look, border! Leaving Misery, oh, I mean Missouri and entering Ohio, oh, I mean Indiana… whatever, just keep going. I-70, adjust/lube chain, hydrate, repeat.

A fantastic Mantra I found at a truck stop somewhere along I-70, to live every day by, essentially, live today!

The diner where the sign was posted. These people were leary of the power ranger, but the truckers, as usual, were very good company. There are few things in life as definite as the approving gaze of a trucker - they know how to size you up quickly!

As I was getting closer to Cincinnati the road got really weird. Ride 100 yards, bump, ride 100 yards, bump. Damn! What is wrong with this road! Lo, it’s getting dark and the traffic is freaky. People are slowing down vigorously for what seems like no reason, so I don’t feel comfortable standing on the bike to avoid these confounded 100 yards-apart bumps and my butt starts cursing me in words I have never known before… I roll into Cincinnati just after sunset and behold, one of the most beautiful sites I have ever seen! Is it because I’m tired, beat up and ready for some R and R, for something to go as planned? Or is it that Cincinnati is all lit up and just plain gorgeous!

I don’t care which it is, I slow down to the speed limit proper to enjoy the sight as I’m coming down the hill on I-70 for a hot 5 seconds and almost get run over thrice by a truck, car and big rig. Never mind, click it back up to speed freak’s dream, only one problem, I’m not in a dreaming mood. At least the big rig apologized. I roll through the bridge upward and onward towards my exit. I don’t find it, and I’m exiting the city again. I get worried, pull off and text my host. Never mind, I’m on course, just travel weary and keep going. I find the house just dandy like and park right around 9:30pm.

Oh snap! It hits me like a ton of bricks! What if I’m walking into a death trap? What if she’s psycho? What if these are my last moments on this earth? Well, I’ve been through a few trials, and I’m not even half-way on my journey, so I’m not allowing myself to die yet. Gotta see this through and man-up. I walk up to the door and ring the door bell. I hear dogs barking and there she be! Shady Lane, just like the pictures. She invites me in, but she’s a bit cold. She didn’t seem that way on the forums. I thought I was going to get  a warmer welcome. Her sister is also there – it would later make sense in my mind that her sister’s presence was in case I was a killer… The dogs warm up very quickly and so does she. I get food, water and drinks, a hot shower and a bedroom, and then we sit down for the interview.

You know, the interview when you’ve put yourself in a situation to get to know somebody quickly and make a call on if you can trust them having access to you, your life and your belongings? The more we talk and smoke the more natural it is. Within 3 hours we’re fast friends, not just cordial virtual acquaintances… Sister heads home, seems like the ghost is clear. We make plans for the morrow and hit the sack.

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

2 comments

  1. Did I miss a whole section on why you were heading over to a stranger’s house?
    I’ve gotta quit reading this or I’ll never finish my OWN ride report (or the corresponding reparis).

    • Shady is a friend who I met on NewNinja.com – I should have incorporated that into the story, oops, and wanted to meet her face-to-face.

Leave a Reply

