Ninja 250 Rally @ The Dragon Day 1, part 3

A sheriff shows up and I have my information ready before he steps out of the car. As he comes walking towards me I start walking towards him with an outstretched hand clinging onto my digits. When we stop in front of one another he asks if the bike has any damage and I reply no. He says, in that case, a report doesn’t have to be filed…. At which point I hit myself in the chest from yanking my documents away from him with all the force I have. Amid a slight smile he continues on to say that he could write a report if I so desired, but I quickly yell “no”, and after seeing his stunned expression repeat the “no” softly covered by an embarrassed laugh. No more BS for this day, please!

2 saddlebags worth of luggage stuffed under a jacket, bungeed to the bike... And that's how I got to Topeka

Anyway, we figure out how everything is going to go back on the bike, I ride 3 blocks to a gas station where I call my parents and inform them of what’s going on, on a good Samaritan’s cell phone because Kansas has no T-mobile coverage, and spent another hour chugging water and crunching ice in the AC of the gas station. Again with the chain adjust/lube and a cigarette and I’m off towards Topeka. I roll into Topeka just past rush hour and start looking for a motel. I come across a Motel 6, excellent, and then a Steak ‘n Shake, even better! I’ve heard of them but have never been privy to enjoy them. I saunter in for some food. The burger comes quickly and is devoured almost instantaneously! With one bite left I hear my server yell at the milk-shake maker: “He’s almost done with his food and still has no shake”, wait 15 seconds as the servers looks in my direction and then a “No, he has finished his food and he still has no shake” followed by an incredulous yelp from behind counter. I smile to myself. No worries man, I’m fat and sassy and not in a rush now. After I enjoy my milkshake and get tired of feeling the stares of the many other patrons at this particular establishment boring into my being I pay and leave.

Oh so good! And just what the stomach needed after the ordeal

Another smoke, and a server comes out to chat. I tell him my story and only the singed muffler convinces him that I’m not lying. He points me in the right direction to get resupplied and I hobble the bike over the parking lot to a Wal-Mart (which I despise) for a cell phone charger and duffle bag. I cross the street to a Best Buy for a camera charger, and then cross the street again completing the square to the Motel 6 where I check in and take my time removing everything from the bike and pulling myself free from the leather suit and boots. Ah, it feels good to be out of that thing! I plug in my almost dead cell and let the parents know what’s what, that I’m safe, and fully intent on continuing the journey, since Topeka does have T-mobile coverage! After all I’m still very fresh and full of energy! There is vacationing to be done here! After the phone call I take a shower and it is a sweet sweet experience, even though the carpet in my room has a stain that looks very much like blood. I don’t care, I feel human again. I repack all my stuff from the 1 saddle bag and jacket-over-everything bungee sandwich I used to get everything to Topeka into the duffle bag and test fit it on the bike. Yes, it will be fine to Cincinnati! I can relax now, everything is fine. I’m asleep before my head hits the pillow at the end of day 1.

Presumably a blood stain on the Motel 6 room's carpet

My melted loofa - guess I'm washing with my hands tonight...

Everything laid out and repacked with the new make-shift duffel bag Wal-mart luggage ready to rock in the morning!

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

3 comments

  1. kurt

    You’re the only guy I know, that travels with a loofah. That either explains why you don’t date much, or things have really changed.

  2. lol, I am a little different, that’s for sure…. 🙂

  3. Paul

    But a loofah scrub feels sooooo good after spending a long day in a leather second skin, or really any day.

Leave a Reply

