Slip-n-slide: theme for the season

So a lady friend request to be taken for a ride a long time ago . I happily acquiesced, however my busy schedule has made it difficult to figure out a time to make it happen. We finally decided today would be a good day, and went. It was hell trying to juggle everything between various houses (currently house sitting), and then there was the weather. Starting out as cool-ish morning it reached over the triples around 1pm, and started building big, nasty, dark clouds poised to kill a fool with a heavy hand on a bike.

But, with everything finally settled, lady and I take off, and not a moment later it starts spitting. Our planned route is covered in sheets of rain to the south, so I re-route on the fly in hopes of dodging it. We get to the bottom of one of my favorite canyons and I tell her: We can gamble. “Either we turn around now and maybe get wet, or we push on ahead and have an adventure”. She opted for the adventure. Smart girl! As we make short work of a moist road, 2 up on a 250 the spitting turns to pelting. It’s just plain unpleasant if the rain is hitting you so hard it feels like needles shooting into your arms – and I have my jacket ON, thank you very much…. I must get my leather jacket back from the shop most pronto! So we’re jaunting up the canyon anywhere between 1.5x and 2x the speed limit – trying desperately to outrun the rain, being pelted by the cold wet stuff and it hits me like a fully loaded semi-truck, trailer sideways, horns a-blarrin’ – this is FUN!

No no, it’s not fun getting wet, no no, it’s not fun being scared out of my wits pushing a bit in semi-familiar conditions, especially considering the extremely precious cargo on my passenger seat. What is fun is the interplay between precious cargo and myself in this strained circumstance. She is making this all worthwhile. She is an excellent passenger! This is especially important for somebody who doesn’t like carrying passengers. I always say that I’d rather chase a woman up a canyon than carry her. That’s a different discussion though. For this particular instance, lady friend is leaning for me. I knock the bike into the corner and she’s all set with body position. I don’t have to shift my weight at all. This would later reveal collateral damage – being that I never moved my butt, it got sore extremely quickly, but hey, that is something I can endure.

The next part of being an excellent passenger she does perfectly is to not complain. Sure, we’re a bit wet, but we are having fun, and we are making great time! A few times I feel her hands get a little tense on my sides as we go into a corner a bit faster than she’s used to, but the tire doesn’t even step out, so she relaxes as soon as we settle into the turn.

Isn’t this what a healthy relationship should be like? A fully symbiotic interplay of “I’ll cover your short-comings while you optimize my talents, and vis-a-vis”. It was a truly inspirational experience! And there wasn’t just the one interplay, playing. The bond between riders and bike was there as well. A family of 3 if you will, merrily rolling up and down a set of canyons in what otherwise would be abysmal circumstances.

So weather be dammed! Rain or shine, if you have the right attitude, and especially the right company to share that attitude with, your choice is what makes an experience worth while or not.

NOTE: I’m sorry, no pictures, my camera hasn’t arrived back home yet. I forgot it at a gas stop over the weekend during a tour of Colorado, and it is being shipped back home. Once I get it, I’ll be sure and share some of the pics which are on it, so consider this your teaser… <wink>

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

One comment

  1. Kurt

    I’m liking this stuff, dude.

    And I remember a similar wet ride, on a highway south of Prescott, maybe 30 years ago. My passenger had complete faith in my marginal riding abilities. Now, what was her name…..

Leave a Reply

