America!!! F yea!

Fireworks and booze! Just don't forget why we get to enjoy these things!

Today is July 4th, our independence day. A day to celebrate the freedoms we too often take for granted. For me, that means celebrating, among many things, the first amendment – most specifically the freedom of press. I studied Journalism because I feel it’s a very important part of our society, and because I think it’s fun. Let me share with you two videos which I think are very telling about our lovely country.

Let me start with a question: What does a man who builds cafe bikes and a marine who’s lost every reference for a good life have in common?

Old Glory my friends.

The blessing of living in the good ‘ol US of A, and everything that comes with that. A day to drink of the fermentation and lighting stuff on fire. More importantly, a day to remember what this country is all about, because we’re all usually too busy to really think about it. People use the term freedom so loosely these days, it has lost its meaning. Well, freedom is many things but in this instance, freedom is the choice to be able to lie your sanity down for the greater good of a nation, and to pursue your dream and build an amazing life for yours and yourself.

Please watch both of these videos

The Marlboro Marine

 The Cafe Cowboy

To me, both videos have the exact same feel, but obviously tell very different stories. I have no idea if Benedict Campbell, creator of The Cafe Cowboy, first watched the Marlboro Marine and then decided that’s the flavor he wanted to give The Cafe Cowboy. What I do know is that their style isn’t their only similarity. The telling of a powerful tale, the effects of war in one, the deep passion and love for something in the other, is what’s so very, very important in this world. I find my own life very boring, and consuming media like this provides the check and balance.

Essentially, what do I really want to do with my life?

I’m a pansy, and definitely do not want to end up like the Marlboro Marine. I appreciate what he and all the others who serve do for me and mine and will always support our troops, but I would simply die in his situation. The Cafe Cowboy on the other hand… What a romanticism! What a beautiful, dreamy life that would be! In the end, both of these stories hit home the fact that there are things in the world worth living for, and worth dying for. Maybe the fact that I haven’t found these things is what makes my life seem boring. I really, somehow, need to find the balls to do what I want to do.

Thus, this July 4th, please remember what USA* stands for, where and why Francis Scott Key** wrote the Star Spangled Banner***, and that if you don’t like living under the Stars and Stripes, you need to pick a different flag and go live under it. Why? Because baby, under this flag we have the option to choose whether we like the flag or not, whether we’ll lay our lives down for it, or build an enterprise to honor it. It is our choice, and choice in the end, will always be better than no choice. Put your hand over heart, and sing with me, our national anthem!

* United States of America

** Francis Scott Key wrote the lyrics to the Star Spangled Banner while watching the bombardment of Fort McHenry during the Battle of Baltimore in the War of 1812.

*** Star Spangled Banner is the name of our National Anthem. If you don’t know the words, memorize them, along with the pledge of allegiance.

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

Leave a Reply

