Freakin out: The track – Part II

As I’m freaking out at work, friend offers some of her ADD medication. I reject it at first. I don’t like pills, and I definitely don’t like other people’s pills. Once I get to the point of complete incapacitation – I can’t think, I can’t focus, all I can do is vibrate in my chair, I take her up on her offer. 15 minutes later I’m superman! All that unfocused energy has been focused into a single beam of productivity. It’s the weirdest feeling in the world. I guess I’m a bit ADD after all (I’ve been conjecturing this for many, many years). Before continuing to freak out about the upcoming track day, I call my doctor and make an appointment to discuss this new discovery with her. A quick note concerning the future: I was diagnosed and was given a prescription, so now I have my own pills for these emergencies. Anyway, the track, the freaking out, right, getting back to that….

Yea, after the pills, no more freaking out. I got all of my work done in a record amount of time and returned home to dinner and a movie with the room mates, as was planned. I go to bed reasonably early. I know not the reason, but I’m up earlier than I usually get up for work, and I put it to good use. Friend and I have to go 40 miles to get new tires, and we make quick work of it, playing a bit Smokey and the Bandit action, with her – riding her ZX-10R playing scout, guide, and general “fighter jet” around me and my car, the cargo carrier. We make absolute record time! I never knew the Subaru ran into the triple digits so comfortably! I even got 22mpg on that trip!

We come back about an hour behind schedule and I get to work prepping the bike. I’m done an hour and a half later, but spend another hour or so tinkering with this and that. As I’m taping up the last of the headlights it hits me… I’m done, I’m ready. I have everything. Almost exactly 24 hrs. from the initial freak-out I’m as calm as I can get. Wow, I’m such a freak!

Buddy picks me up a bit later than planned, and we dawdle on getting everything loaded into the pick-up and trailer. We run right up to sunset, and then he won’t stop futzing with this and that. I tell him to stop and go to bed. I’m calm, tired, and even though I would like to watch a movie, I force myself to go to bed. Tomorrow is an early, long and exhausting day. I have no problem sleeping, and don’t want to get up when the alarm goes off at 5am. Regardless of my lethargy, we’re out the door at 5:30, right on time, and on the long road by 6:00, as planned.

A Kawi 250 and 2 Ducatis ready for a romping.

To be continued…

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

Leave a Reply

