A reminder never hurts – I’m back.

After a very cold spring, Spooph is officially back on the bike!

I have been struggling with a general apathy and depression concerning life. Maybe it’s my job, maybe it’s the weather, maybe it’s my living situation. Not sure, but I don’t care. Tonight I rode home for the second time this week in cold rain. Oh, what a joy and revelation it was! My old, $20 ear buds worked as they should, my new leather over-pants kept me dry as they should, the bike was just wonderfully tuned and tweaked, just the way I wanted it, it was a beautifully wet and glistening landscape passing by under my headlight, just dreamy really.

So I started thinking again. What makes this life worth living. It’s simple really. The road under our rolling tires. That is a euphemism as much as it’s realistic. Life is the road, miles covered are the experiences we have. Good or bad, sunshine or rain, the thing that makes life worth it is the fact that you keep going forward. Reverse is for wimps… Deal with what you have and keep twisting that throttle. Cover ground never before covered, or cover the same ground as before, it doesn’t matter, just keep moving.

If you cover ground that has already been covered by your tired tires, hopefully you will know how to better steer this time, missing more of the potholes, and squeezing an extra second from the turns. If it is an unfamiliar road, let the experience and life lessons of looking ahead, and the experience of knowing of where the tire’s limits are guide you to a generally wonderful, and specifically exact experience.

I don’t like people who are wishy-washy. I’m blessed with those types in my life who know what they want. Not all the desires are the same, but there is one common category, motorcycles. I know I can trust my everything to a rider proper, for they know my world, they understand my issues, and they can extrapolate how I may handle any situation. We are brothers and sisters, and we live our lives, with wheels-a-rolling and I’m going to continue doing what I do, ride till I hurt.

A new season dawns, and life is good again. Cherry posing in front of the Estes Park power station during a quick mid-day ride to shake the cobwebs, Estes Park, CO

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

One comment

  1. Kurt

    You said it yourself… Spooph is officially back.

Leave a Reply

