Freakin out: The track

I've lost it! Or very nearly...

Technically I’m not back publishing yet. This experience was so intense however that I had to share it immediately!

So I generally don’t ever freak out. I registered for a guided track day through Chicane Track Days months ago. I’ve spent almost a year prior to this acquiring all the safety gear I’d need. I’ve spent more money on the bike in the last 3 weeks than I ever have before in such a short time. Throughout all this, I was very calm and collected. Well, I guess I should have prepared better.

It all started off innocent enough when I browsed a thread about said track day in our local sport bike forum. I have been known to miss a few things here and there, and I’ve learned to adapt in making those situations adventures, instead of stressing. Well, a track day isn’t something I want to make an adventure. I guess my feelings speak to the importance I’ve ascribed to this particular event. I’m worrying if the bike will be just right, if my gear will be sufficient, if I’ll perform alright, if others are going to make fun of me, if I’ll be a laughing stock with my 250, or even worse, what if I’m much better than I had anticipated and people start complimenting me! That just wouldn’t do, I couldn’t handle that pressure. Heaven forbid somebody ask me for advice. Oh heavens! So much going through my head.

And I’m stuck at work, in front of a desk, for at least another 4 hours. I have a boiling pit in my stomach causing a black-lacquered daemon to vibrate underneath my skin, ready to explode my being into oblivion. I used to get very excited about things when I was a kid. My entire life my mother has told me this is because I have a great capacity for passion. If this is passion, I want to be the most boring person on earth right now, this is downright torture!

I take many walks over the course of 2 hours. I can’t sit still, I can’t eat, and can only drink water and chain smoke to put even Satan to shame! I know I’m very far off base when two very good friends at work point out, very directly I might add, that I’ve jumped off the deep end.

To be continued.

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

6 comments

  1. Marianne

    Okay..,,Breathe. Wusah. 😉 It will be great, you will take your site lap, take it slow, get to know the track. You won’t let your ego get you in too hot in the corners. You’ll will do well, more than well! I was nervous my first time, too. :). Performance anxiety is a funny thing. But you’re smarter than that and you’ll be perfectly fine:)

    There’s nothing wrong with a 250, if they need to get around you (and vice versa) they (or you) will 🙂 The kids on 125s have whooped my ass before. 🙂

    You’re going to have trackday face soon enough and you won’t be able to wipe the smile off your face. Trust me.

    If you have any any questions that you might think of that I could help with, let me know.

    Don’t forget the most important part…HAVE FUN!

  2. I’m loving it. He’s got the pre-race (or more aptly, pre-trackday) jitters. Enjoy! This is part of it. Eventually, this feeling will go away. Remember when smoking a cigarette gave you a buzz? Well, it’s like that. We want a full report and video. 🙂

  3. Zartan

    Update Please!!!

  4. Dan

    I was at the Chicane track day. Blue ninja 250 r MRA #307. Great day; everyone was safe; I learned a lot from my instructor. I’ll be back. How was your day? BTW you posted in May about Tyga headers and Danmoto exhaust. Do you have that on your bike? Compatible? Compatible with slight modification? I’m thinking of pulling the trigger on this one since I have the slip on danmoto GP. Love it.

  5. Thanks for all the well wishes/suggestions folks, the track day was brilliant! Please read on here: https://thedandooligan.wordpress.com/2011/06/28/freakin-out-the-track-part-ii/

Leave a Reply

