Why do you breathe?

I don’t know why I’m writing this. I have one hell of a headache, and I’m tired and done with today, but I just can’t bring myself to sleep until this topic has been published. It moves my core so deeply that tears are falling on the keyboard. It therefore comes to you un-edited and raw. I hope this causes some sort of reflection and rejoicing in your heart as well.

Maybe it’s because I spent this evening with a beautiful, spunky and brilliant lady. Maybe it’s because I’ve been wrestling with the idea of death since I was twelve. It doesn’t matter I guess. If I didn’t before, I now certainly appreciate every breath I take.

Death, living life to the fullest, what’s your reason to live? I found these videos on www.ninjette.org, from a poster by the name of JeffM. We’ve conversed a few times, and although I do not know this fellow, I know we’d get a long. He’s a rate A chap. I try not to share secondary information, because it’s already out there, but this is just too good to ignore. The story is about Doug Sunderland, a name to stand in the ranks of Burt Monroe and Robert Edison Fulton Jr – Men after my own heart. My heroes, then.

I’m sure they’ve each had, or have their faults. They’ve made mistakes, they’ve survived victories. They’ve seen friends come and go and their cup of experience overflows so that no matter what their idiosyncrasies, they provide faith for those who’ve lost it in life. Just what is so inspiring about these Men? The fact that no matter what they’re up against, they don’t quit, and that to me, is the quintessential motivation to live. Happiness is for pansies, although very enjoyable in any measure. These men have succeeded even against the most stringent measure of life because they can appreciate the small things as much as the big things, and they see those things for what they are. As in, a beautiful sunset at the end of the day is more important than a Ferrari in the garage.

I count myself lucky, for even though these men are my heroes, the biggest one of them all is my own Father. I didn’t know this until just now. Seriously, just now. He exhibits all of the attributes named above, and more. He might not be coolest cat around, but he’s my Father, and for that I will be eternally grateful. I’m glad I chose to stick around long enough to be taught by both my parents to appreciate these things, and see life much more vividly than so many people do.

I thank you, Mom and Dad, for making me who I am today. I thank all the other people in my life who’ve influenced me to become who I am today. And I thank all of the people who are going to influence my life in the future. It really is worth it to keep breathing.

BTW, Doug rides a Hyosung GV650.

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

One comment

  1. Zandit

    Nice stuff yet again Matt!

Leave a Reply

