A Teddie bear in a leather suit – Why Riders are different.

I’ve had a problem for a long time now with people telling me I’m crazy. Luckily they don’t call me boring – that would just be abysmal. On the one hand I always take it as a compliment and smile, but on the other hand I don’t like the fact that they keep me at arm’s length. I’m not dangerous and I’m not going to bite them. It’s almost as if knowing me is dangerous enough that they might get hurt if I get too close. Maybe they’re boring, and have no idea how to handle passion? I doubt their actions are going to change, so let me at least offer an explanation to why I am this way. I, in fact, am not crazy!

Sports riders have a larger frame of reference for danger and speed. Or maybe their spectrum is moved towards the more dangerous side, because that’s what they’re drawn to and what they’re used to… Why do we ride fast? Because it’s fun. Why is it fun? Because it’s scary. Why is it scary, because it’s a challenge and we’re not exactly sure if we can make that turn at that speed without crashing. A test. A mettle test. But never, ever, is it about “having guts”, “Balls of steel”, or my personal favorite creation “Nuttus Indestructibales”. These are simply silly statements uttered by one rider to reflect his or her admiration and respect of another rider’s abilities. This has nothing to do with SQUIDDING. SQUIDs don’t last long in this game. They either get scared, injured or dead.

This is a excellent specimen of a squid. Say "Hi Squid".

Definition of SQUID: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=SQUID

Having Nuttus Indestructibales irrespective of gender is a pure appreciation of the ability and talent displayed by a rider, much like being mesmerized by an ice skating pair at the Olympics, or a tango done proper. All successful racers will tell you that having guts might be more of a detriment than a benefit. Cool, thought out, practiced and researched maneuvers are their recommendations and they will often have fun one-liners to fall back on, like: “Slow is smooth, smooth is fast.” I believe with this attitude, it’s a fine line to walk between SQUIDDING it and being just stupid fast, on the street at least.

Although SQUIDS use these terms as well, they stole them from the dedicated riders. The racing greats who wheelie down the front straight because they’ve just won a race, who pull stoppies because they’re braking VERY hard and only need one wheel to go around a corner. The elites can do this because they are truly head and shoulders above the rest of us pilgrims. SQUIDS don’t know, and probably don’t even have the brain capacity to realize that they’re not impressing the right people. I am not a SQUID, although I do have my moments. All my riding buddies aren’t SQUIDS either. Call a SQUID crazy and keep him at arm’s length, because you might get hurt, yes. Have no fear of the rest of us though. We’re not trying to impress anybody. Well, not in the same way as they are. 😛

So you call us adrenaline junkies, speed freaks, or whatever, but really, it comes down to us being very fun people – people willing to hang it out for a good time.

This is worth dying for. It gives life a clarity few things can.

Sure, we might be a bit reserved, or not. We might work boring jobs, or not. I’m not implying that you’re a boring person if you don’t ride, I’m trying to say that it’s our way of seizing the moment, as it might be somebody else’s way to Carpe Diem by going clubbing, or paint War-Hammer figurines. You don’t keep those people at arms length. We don’t bite either.Or maybe I just have an overconfidence in people. Maybe most people really just are boring. Maybe these boring people are scared of being excited about life, or don’t know how to be. Lately, I’ve acutely observed. I have found boring people, to be boring.

A boring person could possibly stare at something for 15 minutes before they realize they’re bored. Then they might struggle with the idea of being bored for another 15 minutes, and then probably just resign themselves to being bored for the rest of the day and just finding something to pass the time instead of being creative and finding something which isn’t boring….

It’s a choice really. If somebody chooses to be boring I have no compassion for them. If you can’t find something to be passionate about in the US, you’re just plain stupid and SOL. There are just too many opportunities here not to be passionate about something. Please keep in mind, I’m not condemning boring people. They’re not bad people, just boring. And I can’t handle boring people. OK, fine, maybe boring people can’t handle me either, but really, how many of the people I interact with on a daily basis can be boring? At least 50% of the people I work with are passionate about something. Why do most other people keep me an extra step away?

See, if a rider was near the person zoning off into space, the rider would have been gone 13 seconds into the staring, after a couple of incredulous double-takes of a person who could actually be that dull.

I don’t know why, other than to ascribe an addictive euphoria to the act, but riders just ride, all over the place, for no reason what so ever. It’s just that good. Riding is exhilarating, it’s freeing, and the ever increasing desire to achieve these feelings is what drives us. We ride because we’re chasing that passion. Passion is anything but boring. Is this world really so silly as to mis-label passion for insanity? So call me what you will, but please, don’t be afraid of me. I’m just a Teddie bear in a leather suit.

Not a racing suit, but you get the idea.

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

13 comments

  1. Brian

    Well said.

    Having just had my first fall, I can say this: I am not a squid. I wear all my gear whether its 30 degrees outside or 60 (or even 90, but we haven’t had those days yet). I am not a squid. And after I fell, I got right back on and went (a little late…) to work. Riding is my moment to be with me, myself, and I. No passengers, no deadlines (as I have no clock…).

    I tell my co-workers who call me crazy “Yes, but I’m not stupid.” I think that is what people are more afraid of. Unfamiliarity with the type who ride and the difference between the cautious rider and the moron.

  2. zartan

    Hey nicely put!I get tired of the first thing out of some non riders mouth is about wheelies and crashing. It is a passion and a lifestyle not a mental illness. We are really quite nice people 🙂

    ps. I am liking the Crow sticker on your bike. Honered I am 🙂

  3. Ms XX Fast

    “Why is it scary, because it’s a challenge and we’re not exactly sure if we can make that turn at that speed without crashing.”

    LOL! Love it! It is so satisfying when you do make it and you hit that apex faster, or you lose a 1/10 of a second, or you slide and recover, or you pass someone in the corners. You know how it is…It just keeps getting better and better…

  4. Ms XX Fast

    BTW you got blogrolled, lol.

  5. Kurt

    Well done.

    Does your employer know what you do, in your cubicle?

  6. Excellent. Don’t forget the euphoria experienced when being called a SQUID by some roadfaring seafood who prefer the reclined riding position. 😉 Just because we “recline” the other way… hehehe

    Anyhow, you gave me an idea… I have yet to formulate… for my blog. However, I loved this post. But the Squid in the speedos was a bit much… I was eating, well trying to. LOLOL I haven’t been called insane. I haven’t been kept at arms length, I get the aforementioned treatment. Oh, and I get told I will be dead fairly soon or that the bike is too fast, too big, too something. Too so not for me. Probably because I’m a woman. I don’t know. Women cruiser riders are usually the ones who are not “impressed”, the men leave me be (I am talking offline here, not online). Anyway, I’m getting lost, I’m at my boring job and tired as heck…

    Oh, I remember now: Here I thought I became a total bore when I discovered motorcycles, because that’s all there is now. I’m sure people are tired of hearing it. I must be one boring person to just have one “thing” in my life.

    Doesn’t feel boring to me, but there is cause for concern. ;P

    Counter steering separates the squid from his bike faster than you can say “right of way”. I leave you with that scary little thought. 😉

    • Thanks! All good points you made. I guess we’re pretty boring in our one-track mindedness as well, but why? Because there are so few other things that are not boring after having started riding. Lol, I like your squid-counter steering phrase. I’m going to keep it..

Leave a Reply

