Lend an ear – Bloggers unite!

Big Ear in-ear bud

Reading Miss Busa’s review on the Big Ear brought to mind the fact that I love to listen to music when I ride.  It also reminded me that it is probably time to replace the $20 Marshmallows I’ve been riding with for years now.  They have served their purpose, but sometimes they work, and sometimes they pull out just slightly.  I’d rather they pull out completely because coming half out concentrates the sound and makes sounds that used to be semi-loud turn into ear-bleeding loud!  I have been eyeing the Etymotic ER6i and have heard wonderful things from the advrider.com crowd for years now.

I sent an email off to Miss Busa asking her if she wouldn’t mind comparing the Etymotic ER6i to her Big Ears.  She’s had Big Ears for over a year now and knows their sound, plus, I love comparos! (Note: I’m not actually sure how big her ears are since her hair covers them in every pic and video I’ve ever seen of her, but I’m sure she has lovely ears.  Yes, I comment on my own syntax.)

She answers back saying it’s a dandy proposition, but questions the motivations of someone who would willy-nelly send a pair of headphones to a person they’ve never met and could possibly get the shaft. Well, just by identifying that risk for me, she has already proven herself. Besides, I’m sure she knows I don’t like shafts… unless it’s a polished crankshaft producing more power with a sweet sweet smooth action! Oh dear. Anyways… She rides a bike as well, and riders stick together, usually anyway. She is open and honest in her blogs (or a fantastic liar).  She’s got the right attitude and has never given me a reason to doubt her. At the very least she should get something for all her trouble if in fact she is a shyster. Besides, I like trusting people.

Last year I hosted an Australian I met on the internet.  I spent a year and a half helping him plan a two month motorcycle tour of the US.  He did not have a bike here so I lent him one of mine.  I was able to join him for two amazing weeks across some beautiful country and if I didn’t trust humanity I would have missed out on one the most memorable experiences of my life.  It made me feel that there is still some hope in all these bi-peds.

Ah the memories, but back to our original programming.  I saunter on over to Google shopping and find a set of Etymotic ER6i for $70 at pcuniverse.com. With almost $8 shipping that makes them $78 bucks. Click click, scroll, type, type and they’re off to Miss Busa. Now the waiting game begins… Will she like them? Will they outperform her BigEars? Will they be as durable and robust? I think she’ll like them, but not as much as her BigEars. I don’t think they’ll out perform the BigEars nor be as robust. Will they be worth the savings? Well, now, that’s the real question, isn’t it?

 

Etymotics Er6i in-ear bud

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

One comment

  1. Pingback: Bloggers Unite: An Impromptu Comparo « The Girl Gets Around (on a BMW S1000RR)

Leave a Reply

