The Dandooligan: Introduction

Hello all, let me introduce myself!

I started riding at 20. When I come back from a ride, I’m already thinking about the next one. While I’m out riding, I forget about all the problems, or work through them. It is an experience worth living for, sometimes serene, sometimes exciting. This has pushed me towards adapting my life style towards accommodating the motorcycle in almost all facets of life. The motorcycle is probably one of the biggest defining factors in my life.

I’ve found there are two very distinct parts to me, – The Dandy and The Hooligan. They both strive for fun, and neither ever means any mal-intent. The Dandy is the slightly more boring, more civilized, and better dressed side individual. The Hooligan is the leather clad, speed junky. Thus, with two sides, I often find myself torn between the two, wondering which side is going to win out. The Dandooligan is born. So, then, what is  a Dandooligan? A properly dressed, properly civilized (but not overly so), properly mannered person striving to grab every day by the scruff of the neck and wrestle it to the ground until both are tired ready for bed… *pant*

A person to squeeze the very last drop from the lemon, ’cause lemonade is delicious! The kind of guy who can fix most things with duct-tape, bailing wire, and a pair of pliers – in Sunday church dress. A juxtaposition, a mash-up of unlikely things, a self-contradiction, a wonderfully grand ol’ time! Yabber yabber yabber, loud exhausts and cocktail parties with champagne and trinkling piano music in the background.

You get the idea. Following from the name, I must also disclaim that I love words and view the English language is just another tool to communicate. Although I usually know how to spell a word, and which words aren’t words, I like to bash or carefully graft them together to create the proper feeling, so you might see some very interesting words pass this way.

Thank you for reading, and all the best in your own journey to make every breath a victory over death stayed!

-The Dandooligan

About Dandooligan

Dandooligan CO, United States Every ride spurs the yearning for another and as such, has pushed me to adopt the riding lifestyle and all of it's challenges. This blog concerns those challenges from bikes to gear, media about bikes, and maybe even some psychology/sociology on the subject as well. Dandooligan, a mash-up of Dandy and Hooligan, both very important parts of me and my outlook on life. I'm also known as Spooph

One comment

  1. I really love your introduction. It seems that we have a few things in common. 🙂 My life has gradually changed to encompass the passion I discovered not too terribly long ago… as if two people take the same road but at different times, to different places, yet the same road. I smiled. Familiar territory, indeed. When I was reading this post I almost felt like my twin wrote these words… my more cultivated, literary refined twin, the Dandy to my Hooligan.

    I am looking forward to following your blog.

    Ride. Write. Write about the Ride.
    Miss Busa

Leave a Reply

